Goodbye 2015


It seems that 2015 is coming to a close and I thought it would be a good time to compose my fourth and final post of 2015. It has been a slow year blogging but that is not to say I have not been busy.

I have been working almost exclusively with ColdFusion almost 20 years now which is almost half of my life as scary as that is to say. This year has been focused on learning new methods and technologies. I spent quite a bit of time this year picking up the NodeJS stack. As a front end developer I have written a lot of jQuery interacting with the DOM. Using javascript to write a server just seemed plain awesome. Moving forward I have a feeling many of my personal projects will be built on top of NodeJS.

After my crash course on NodeJS the natural progression of things led me to AngularJS. I will have to say this one was a real pleasure. After so many years of using jQuery to modify the DOM after it was rendered it was refreshing to use javascript to actually render the DOM. I have been splitting my time between working with Angular 1.x branch and also trying to pick up Angular 2 since it is getting closer to a stable release.

Finally I have been working with GitHub’s Electron to build cross-platform desktop apps. Mostly this has been writing tools I can use for work since that would actually push me to learn Electron and Angular. Writing an application once and being able to build it for Mac/Windows/Linux is just awesome. My teammates at work have enjoyed the fruits of my labor.

Aside from that I have played a lot of games in 2015. I enjoyed Destiny for a while, but really my old standby is Diablo 3. I am excited to see what 2016 has to bring and I hope all of you have a happy and safe new year!

 

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on December 30, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Node.js for the win! Happy to year to you Robert.

Leave a Reply

