April update


It has been pretty quiet around here for a while so I thought I would go ahead and post a quick update and get my first post in for the year. There have been quite a few things keeping me busy lately and the day job keeps me busy more often than not so here is my current list in no particular order.

ColdBox 4
If I loved ColdBox any more I would probably have to get a room. I have been playing with CB4 since the bleeding edge releases but I have switched some of my 3.8 projects over to 4.0. A lot of hit has to do with compatibility since the core was cleaned up.

Google OAuth 2 Integration
Having to rewrite user authentication for every application seems a bit of a drag, especially when user authentication can be handled by somebody else. To that end, I am looking to have Google handle all my user authentication going forward. Ray had some code for hooking into Google’s OAuth2 implementation and I am working on getting that wired in to CB4.

Lucee Application Server
I have used Railo for years and I was sad to see it would have no more updates. Then Lucee was announced and I was cool again. I spent a few weeks tuning my installation process and moved away from the automated installers to custom installations. I have always been a bit of server geek so this was right up my alley.

Node.js/Socket.io
I have been wanting to get in to Node.js and Socket.io for ages, but time has always been a factor. However, lately I have been looking into ways to leverage websockets aside from a chat application (I wrote one of those too) so I finally sat down and learned just enough for me to be dangerous. It was pretty easy getting socket.io to talk to the ColdFusion server through API calls. Next will be figuring out how to get CF talking to node.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on April 8, 2015, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

