CommandBox is not just for ColdBox


A few weeks ago I think it was Ray who had posted something about CommandBox. I had heard about it before its release, but I totally missed it when it was unveiled at Into the Box.

I have to say it has quite a few features that I really love. Being able to completely setup a ColdBox application scaffold with just one command is great. The package management system is another awesome feature in and of itself; one that other languages have had a leg up on ColdFusion for a very long time.

One feature that might be easily overlooked (I certainly did) is the embedded server. I did play around with it initially then I promptly forgot all about it. Which brings me to today when I wanted to check out a project from github (Taffy, but that is another post), I wasn’t anywhere near my home machine and I really didn’t want to install Railo Express just to test something out. Turns out it wasn’t an issue, I just extracted all the files out to a directory, fired up CommandBox, typed “server start” and fired up a Railo server I could play around with without any additional configuration needed.

Incidentally, you can access the web/server administrator and it will retain your configuration data for that folder so your settings will persist which also is really awesome.

If you haven’t looked into CommandBox because you don’t use ColdBox it might be worth a look. I look forward to seeing where this project goes in the future. You can see the intro video here:Β http://www.ortussolutions.com/products/commandbox

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on July 17, 2014, in ColdBox, ColdFusion, CommandBox, Railo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great write up! Now we just need to get projects like Taffy on ForgeBox, so installation can be as easy as “install taffy” πŸ™‚
    Of course, one of our plans for the future as well will be direct installs from Git URLs as well.

    P.S. ColdBox has great REST support too πŸ™‚
    http://wiki.coldbox.org/wiki/Building_Rest_APIs.cfm

    • I really look forward to be able to pull down github repos as well as forgebox projects, but what you guys have done so far is a great step forward. Thanks for all your hard work!

      So far pretty much all my experience writing API endpoints has been in ColdBox which is why I was looking into Taffy. I just wanted to see another way of doing things, but I do agree ColdBox makes writing REST APIs a breeze. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

