Adding ColdFusion tags to jEdit’s JTidy plugin


Lately I have been using jEdit almost exclusively as my editor of choice when coding. While one could argue that it lacks many features found in other editors such as Eclipse it more than makes up for with the many plugins you can install. One of those plugins is JTidy, a java implementation of HTML Tidy that comes in real handy for cleaning up malformed or faulty HTML.

Installation in jEdit is a breeze using the plugin manager so I quickly had it installed, but the one issue I quickly ran into was the fact that JTidy did not know how to handle CFML tags. After a lot of googling I found Ron Stewart’s config file for JTidy that has the CF tag rules:

http://www.we3geeks.org/files/tidy-cfml.config

Copy the tag names into the correct blocks in the JTidy area of jEdit’s plugin options and you should be in business. I managed to get everything configured this evening but I really have not had a chance to test it out.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in ColdFusion, jEdit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Worajedt Sitthidumrong

    Thank you very much for this blog. I’ve been fan of jEdit for years but still lazy to make it play well with CF.

  2. Honestly, jEdit is nice however once I discovered Sublime Text 2 I dropped jEdit like a hot potato. It does everything jEdit does except better (my personal opinion). I actually broke down and bought a license for it, which says quite a bit.

    However, glad you found the post useful. 😀

  3. Even it’s take me half year to comment again, happy new year 🙂

    I agree with you on Sublime, how ever for me, Thai people, it’s not play well with Thai character and that make me feel upset. Actually it’s like this since TextMate though.

    Cocoa text editor like Coda is good, but not available for Win, LInux that I’ve used also.

    Finally, end up with Sublime 2 like you. Better IMO also.

Leave a Reply

