Speeding up Aptana Studio 3


My IDE of choice when developing is Aptana Studio.  I was setting up a new install last night on a Windows development machine and it seemed like it was a little “sluggish” (yes, that is a technical term).

After some quick Googling I found Mike Henke’s post on Turbo Charging Eclipse.  Since Aptana is built on top of Eclipse this is just what I was looking for.  Mike’s guide is pretty dang comprehensive and I will not reiterate it but if you are looking for some performance gains I would consider it recommended reading.

Admittedly, I did not go through all the steps he outlined.  I made some “best guesses” based on my system configuration and went with it.  Here is my current AptanaStudio3.ini file for Windows, although the same optimizations should work equally well on Linux.

--launcher.XXMaxPermSize
256m
--launcher.defaultAction
openFile
-name
Aptana Studio 3
-vmargs
-Xms512m
-Xmx512m
-Declipse.p2.unsignedPolicy=allow
-Djava.awt.headless=true
-XX:PermSize=128m
-XX:MaxPermSize=128m
-Xverify:none
-XX:+UseParallelGC
-XX:+AggressiveOpts
-XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods

The end result, Aptana definitely feels like it has a little more pep in its step.  I do not have any benchmarks or hard quantitative data to back that up, only my personal experience.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Aptana, CFEclipse, Linux, Windows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the kind words

  2. Thanks for the tip, worked really well for me.

  3. I had the following error when trying to launch Aptana under Windows 7 (64 bit) + Latest Java runtime:

    “Could not create Java virtual machine”
    “Failed to create the java virtual machine” when starting Aptana

    Using your config file fixed those issues!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

