Serviio DLNA media server


The last few weeks I have been working on ironing out a few issues I have been having streaming media to my consoles.  MythTV does offer a UPnP media server, but for one reason or another my luck with it has been hit and miss at best.  The hardware on my MythTV machine is  a little dated and I have no plans of updating it any time soon.  With that in mind, I thought it might be a good idea to offload the streaming to my work machine because it has enough processor and memory to handle it.

With that in mind I set out to find a good media server and came across Serviio DLNA media server.  One of the key features to me was the fact that it was written in Java so it will work on multiple platforms including Linux, Mac and Windows as well.  Any device that supports DLNA 1.5 should work just fine as well as the Playstation 3 and Xbox360 (I only have the XBox360 and that works a treat).

Installation on Linux is straight forward; I downloaded the application and extracted it into my home folder.  I believe the Windows and Mac version has a pre-compiled version of ffmpeg and LameMP3 encoder  included with it (the server also supports transcoding on the fly although I have not tested it).  Linux users will need to install ffmepg through their distributions package manager or by compiling it manually.  I already have the lastest ffmpeg compiled on my machine so I was ready to go.

The next step was to start up the service and get it configured.  On linux this is accomplished by running the serviio.sh script file.  Once that is up and running you just need to run the console (serviio-console.sh on linux) and get things set up the way you like.

After getting the service configured everything just works.  Serviio has some nice metadata options and can identify ID3 tags, WMA tags and EXIF tags in images.  Also when you connect to the server it gives you a nice breakdown of your media including recently added, recently watched, a breakdown by actor, etc.

I have not had a lot of time to play with it really in depth, but if you are looking for a home media server it is definitely worth checking out.  I plan on playing around with it a little more in depth this weekend when I have a little free time.  If you have some experience with it please let me know what you think.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on March 25, 2011, in HTPC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

