cfMud is now up at GitHub


I thought it would be pretty cool to create a MUD based on ColdFusion and jQuery so I thought I would give it a shot and see what I could come up with.  This was my first project that would rely heaving on jQuery and using AJAX calls to push data to the server and back to the client.  The code is still in EARLY in development, but I am putting it up on my public repo.

The main feature is a clickable map that allows you to move your character around the world.  It was designed to be pretty lightweight and caches a large chunk of the map at a time.  I don’t the the multi-user part down either, currently it works for one person.  Also, the NPC system leaves a lot to be desired, the movement is slow and clunky due to the nature of how it is handled (jQuery sends a heartbeat to the server which handles all the server side NPC management).

I don’t have access to my database server to include schema at the moment, but I will update the repo later on this afternoon with the schema in place.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on July 12, 2010, in ColdFusion, jQuery. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nice to see more CF-ers using github. Here is Robert’s CdMud link http://github.com/robertz/cfMud

  2. Hi Robert,

    concerning the heartbeat problem, did you read the series of posts about “AJAX Longpolling with ColdFusion and BlazeDS” by Stephen Moretti (http://nil.checksite.co.uk/index.cfm/2010/1/28/CF-BlazeDS-AJAX-LongPolling-Part1)?
    I think Stephen describes a more robust way of using a heartbeat with BlazeDS, when there is no need to get an immediate response for a request.
    What do you think, could this be used for a game like yours?

  3. @Mike: I can’t believe I missed that. Thank you for posting the link.

    @Frank: I had not seen that post, but I am definitely going to read it. Lately I have been looking into using web sockets and Pusher (ala Ben Nadel’s recent blog posts on the PusherApp service). The one attractive thing about using web sockets is not having to load another service.

    Thanks for pointing out that post.

Leave a Reply

