What can 150 lines of jQuery do?


Lately I have been working on a side project meaning to use it as a administration tool of sorts for some up and coming projects I have planned.  Basically the interface mimics a computer desktop.  You click on application links on the desktop and it opens a window.  You can drag it around, resize it, minimize it, etc.  You can drag the application links around on the desktop and arrange them however you like.

To be fair, I got the idea from a co-worker of mine, Aaron,  who wrote a similar application.  On the other hand, I wanted to leverage the power of the jQuery UI so changing a theme would just be a matter of changing which stylesheet to include.  I thought it would be an involved process getting everything working but actually it was deceptively easy.  It still doesn’t layout correctly in IE…  Imagine that.

cpanel

I don’t know if I will ever actually ever use it in a project but it was pretty fun to play around with.  I will probably put it up for download later if anyone is interested in playing around with it.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on March 5, 2010, in ColdFusion, jQuery, jQuery UI. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Yes . . . I’d definitely love to play around with it!

  2. Sounds like a cool idea. I would be interested to see the code.

  3. MJ Frauenheim

    I’d love to check it out as well.

  4. As Would I.

  5. I am really interested in looking at the code. can you provide me download link

  6. I will put the code up ASAP. Been dealing with computer issues this morning. 😥

Leave a Reply

