Simple CF Chat updated to work with ColdBox


Over the long weekend I had a chance to really dig in to ColdBox. We use ColdBox pretty exclusively at work and digging into the framework and getting to the nuts and bolts of things just made sense. My first “hello world” application was porting my old CFChat application over to ColdBox and get it up and running using routes, services and handlers.

The code was pretty ugly when I first posted it up. I went ahead and rewrote the whole thing from the ground up and fixed some of the glaring issues that bothered me since I first “released” it. I also threw out the old javascript file and rewrote that from scratch. 

This was pretty much a dead end project as I could probably implement something much better as a web service, but it did introduce me to a lot of core concepts in ColdBox and that is what it was all about anyway, really.

If you are interested in checking out the shiny new stuff you can check it out here: http://demos.kisdigital.com/demos/chat.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on May 29, 2013, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Can we see the code?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 831 other followers

