Archive

Archive for December 27, 2011

Quick and easy screen share (and capture)

December 27, 2011 2 comments

Over the holiday my mother-in-law had a sick computer. While us nerds are good at figuring things out, it is not always an easy thing to diagnose over the phone. That in mind, I went looking for a simple screen sharing solution so I could see the problem without her having to open ports in her router for RDP which would have just opened up a whole new can of worms.

Doing a quick web search I came across join.me‘s web site and it made everything super simple. The host downloads and runs an app that acts as the server software. Once the server is up and running it displays an access code they can give to the remote viewer to access the session in a web browser.

It can be a bit of a pain if the other end is running Windows 7 with UAC enabled, but I guess that was the point of having UAC installed to begin with. Other than that I have no complaints, I had her system up and running smoothly again in no time. I have a feeling I will be using this quite a bit in the future. It is definitely worth checking out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 765 other followers