MythTV vs Windows MediaCenter


I have been using Windows Media Center as my HTPC of choice for years now.  Recently Media Center has started crashing several times a day so I thought it might be time to mix things up a bit.  I have looked at a few other solutions, some running Windows and others running on Linux.  I could easily reload my HTPC machine with Windows, but ideally I would like to move on to something open-sourced and preferably on Linux; all my other machines run on various Linux distros. The main reason why I have not switched before is because I have about 2 TB of recorded video in Microsoft format that I did not want to lose, but now that I am having problems with the machine the collateral damage is not really an issue.

Currently I am looking at installing Mythbuntu to handle the HTPC role.  Basically I am just looking to see if anyone has made this switch and has any helpful hints on making the transition.  The biggest thing for me is the Media Center remote which looks like it will work well with MythTV.  I plan on transitioning over the weekend and I would love to hear about your experiences.

About Robert Zehnder

Web application developer specializing in ColdFusion/Railo and Open Source development.

Posted on March 3, 2011, in General, HTPC, Linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 831 other followers

